Lost Continent Books

Mapping the Terrain of Used and Rare Books

Quickie Review: “The Drive-In: A B-Movie With Blood and Popcorn, Made in Texas” by Joe Lansdale

My first taste of Lansdale was a wild experience: I was taken totally by surprise. “The Drive-In” is absurd, quirky, scary, and very funny. I don’t think I’ve laughed-out-loud at a book since I was in high-school reading Vonnegut and Thompson. Very few authors could make a scene depicting the cannibalization of a baby as funny as something from “Catch-22.”

The book combines a pastiche of “B-Movies”, absurd, deadpan humor, and horror with a twist of mild splatterpunk. Mix in some social-satire, a hint of tentacled space-aliens, and stir with a style of writing that keeps the pages moving smoothly and easily. What a unique taste!

If you’ve got a free afternoon, the book is slim enough to easily read in one sitting. As the Aboriginal Science Fiction Magazine blurbs: “Read this book when you’re in a strange mood!”

There will be more Lansdale in my future for sure. I’ll let everyone know how that goes.

“The Drive-In” is highly recommended!

Alex

About jansonbriggs

Book collectoe/ dealer, aspiring author, have had poems published in a few small magazines.... I like cats and quiet. I like airplane lift-offs and the new-renewal of wandering (wondering?) around somewhere new. I like solitude. I miss people. Bob Dylan. Running water; still water - I like water. A good sence of humor. Again: A good sense of humor. That's what keeps us sane and human and Kind.

Leave a Reply

Bookends

Goodreads

