Lost Continent Books

Mapping the Terrain of Used and Rare Books

Sorting it Out: A Real-Time Diary of Re-Assessing Boxes of Books in my Big Closet

 

Cleaning out and organizing my walk-in closet filled with books…. at least starting to….

It doesn’t matter, it really doesn’t matter at all. Throw the damn things out. Exterminate all the brutes.

“The Five-Dollar Watch Mystery” Mystery solved – It’s a piece of shit. Yard-Sale pile.

 

 

 

 

 

 

What the hell is a “Kinver Rock-House”? And why is it signed? Why so many signed books? Am I some sort of hoarder?

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

All Signed Books

 

I found some book about near-death experiences that is kind of maybe worth twenty dollars but I sense that nobody wants or will ever pay for it and I have no idea what to do with it.

I should look into being a volunteer fireman.

Frank Sinatra? “The Compleat Sinatra”? Yes, they spell “complete” like that. It’s a cool book, I kind of want to keep it. Oversized hardcover, dustjacket. It’s like one of those Grateful Dead encyclopedias that tells you every single statistic and what songs they played and in what order and for how long and how many times a year and in what venues and on and on…. except it’s FRANK SINATRA! What a weird fucking thing. If I were somebody else I’d pay a hundred dollars for this. Shit. I’m just going to shelve it for now. Fucking Frank Sinatra….

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

“Star Wars Jesus”…. I don’t even know what to say…. It’s signed, for the love of God….. It’s “Star Wars Jesus”….. “A Spiritual Commentary on the Reality of the Force”….. I’m speechless….. I’m going outside for a cigarette.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Why do I have so many issues of The Bulletin of the National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors Incorporated ?????

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

 

“Project OCCULT: The Order Computer Collation of Unprepared Literary Text” ….. I’m going to read it this afternoon. It’s going to be great. It’s some sort of MS-DOS binary experiment from the 70’s. My Goodreads review is going to go like this: “The book I just read is both irrelevant and incomprehensible. I don’t know why I have it. I’m slowly starting to hate myself.”

Maybe I’ll give up on being a real book collector and just accumulate millions of Danielle Steele novels and hoard them in a vault and drown in them like Scrooge McDuck does with his gold coins…..

Sorry this post was so random, but it helped me get through a little over half the books I have stored. Please let me know if you want to hear this kind of babbling again. Another book-review soon.

Alex

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jansonbriggs

Book collectoe/ dealer, aspiring author, have had poems published in a few small magazines.... I like cats and quiet. I like airplane lift-offs and the new-renewal of wandering (wondering?) around somewhere new. I like solitude. I miss people. Bob Dylan. Running water; still water - I like water. A good sence of humor. Again: A good sense of humor. That's what keeps us sane and human and Kind.

5 comments on “Sorting it Out: A Real-Time Diary of Re-Assessing Boxes of Books in my Big Closet

  1. mackclark311
    February 26, 2015

    Ahahahaha you cracked me up with this one

    • jansonbriggs
      March 3, 2015

      MacGyver, my friend, thanks for commenting! I’m posting new ones in the same vein, and then I’m going to back off (maybe) for awhile…. Keep in touch. Alex.

    • jansonbriggs
      March 3, 2015

      MacGyver, my friend, thanks for commenting! I’m posting new ones in the same vein, and then I’m going to back off (maybe) for awhile…. Keep in touch. Alex.

  2. Meredith
    March 13, 2015

    Mystery solved! I laughed out loud at my desk when I read that. Also, please tell me you’ve read the Star Wars Jesus book, I’d like to know more!

    • jansonbriggs
      March 18, 2015

      Well, Meredith, I’ve perused it…. And I’m actually impressed at how much time the author took to relate obscure Bible passages to obscure moments in the Star Wars Universe. None of it makes all that much sense, but enough to know he’s done his research. He not only has the Bible passages perfect, but knows about the Star World intricacies a lot more – a shit of a lot more – than I do. Though all I’d have to do is call Daniel, and the man’s ass would be kicked. A Religious Studies Major who is an atheist and knows, somehow everything about Star Wars even though he would rarely talk about it unlessy ou brought it up. My brother is a ninja. And he needs to read this post and respond. I was going to send you a private email, saying just what I said here, but this once I’ll see how a long post that is obviously at least a little personal works for followers. We’ll have our own Reality Show soon.

      Take care, Alex.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2015 by in Books, Collecting/ Scouting, Fiction, Literary History, Literature, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
