Lost Continent Books

Mapping the Terrain of Used and Rare Books

Review: “Hot Blood,” by various; Jeff Gleb and Lonn Friend, Editors

Don’t be deceived by title or cover-art of this book, or any others in the series. When I picked my first “Hot Blood” book off the shelf at the Goodwill my first impression was – “This is going to be a collection of really lame, cheesy romance/hack ‘n slash stories that don’t know what they are or what they are trying to do.”

Then I looked at the list of contributing authors: Graham Masterson, Bentley Little, Ramsey Campbell, Lisa Tuttle, Robert McCammon, Nancy Holder, Melanie Tem…. And just goes on from there.

The stories are good! I mean very good. This series could easily sit on a shelf next to Karl Wagner’s “Year’s Best Horror”, Richard Chizmar’s “Shivers”, and “John Pelan’s “Darskide” anthologies.

I think term erotic horror is a bit strong – though many of the stories are erotic – but any of these contributions would fit easily into any horror collection. Many of them – if read elsewhere – I would not even consider erotic.

But the book contains some very explicit content. It is definitely for horror fans – not children or the weak of heart. And I guess marketing the books under the “Hot Blood” label worked out great – there are least 12 or 13 volumes.

***

Sorry for the brevity – and, in my opinion, mediocre quality – of this post. I just need to get some words down; get some people looking at Lost Continent. Warming up after my hiatus

It’s been awhile since I posted a review, I haven’t feeling my best, but I hope everyone who has read my past posts will continue to do so. Expect more in the near future.

Alex

About jansonbriggs

Book collectoe/ dealer, aspiring author, have had poems published in a few small magazines.... I like cats and quiet. I like airplane lift-offs and the new-renewal of wandering (wondering?) around somewhere new. I like solitude. I miss people. Bob Dylan. Running water; still water - I like water. A good sence of humor. Again: A good sense of humor. That's what keeps us sane and human and Kind.

Leave a Reply

Bookends

Goodreads

