Lost Continent Books

Mapping the Terrain of Used and Rare Books

“The Killer Inside Me,” by Jim Thompson

The Killer Inside Me,” by Jim Thompson is most easily classified as some sort of noir thriller, but really, at it’s heart the book is psychological horror.

That’s what makes Mr. Thompson so great. I’ve reviewed a couple other of his books and have come to the conclusion that he is a horror writer wearing the costume of a pulp suspense author.

Even though this is his most lauded book, I’m going to be ballsy enough to claim that it didn’t impress me nearly as much as the other two I have read – “A Hell of a Woman,” and “Child of Rage.”

The main character becomes repetitive and even a little annoying. He is unlikable. I don’t mean unlikable in the “creepy bad guy” sort of way, but in the “please just shut the hell up, already” sort of way. I had a hard time reading this book the whole way through in one sitting as I did with the other two mentioned books.

So – Jim Thompson is a magnificent writer and I would recommend him to anyone. But I would also recommend not starting with this book – though it does have it’s merits – and picking another title.

Alex

(Also check out the link to my Ebay store under the “Purchase Our Books” section of this site. Thanks!)

About jansonbriggs

Book collectoe/ dealer, aspiring author, have had poems published in a few small magazines.... I like cats and quiet. I like airplane lift-offs and the new-renewal of wandering (wondering?) around somewhere new. I like solitude. I miss people. Bob Dylan. Running water; still water - I like water. A good sence of humor. Again: A good sense of humor. That's what keeps us sane and human and Kind.

Leave a Reply

Bookends

Goodreads

